3D baby scans


Different types of twins

1. Dichorionic diamniotic (DCDA) twins:

DCDA twins have 2 placentas and 2 separate sacs. These babies usually have different genetic material and only 10% will be identical.

twins_dichorionic_diamniotic2. Monochorionic diamniotic (MCDA) twins:

MCDA twins have a single placenta and 2 separate sacs. These babies have identical genetic material.


3. Monochorionic monoamniotic (MCMA) twins:

MCMA twins have a single placenta and both babies are moving around within the same sac. They also have the same genetic material.

twins-2Some special problems twins may encounter during pregnancy

All twins:

Monochorionic diamniotic twins:

Monochorionic monoamniotic twins:

Ultrasound scanning in twin pregnancies

Dichorionic diamniotic twins are usually routinely scanned monthly to assess growth and well being of each baby and for cervical assessment.

Monochorionic diamniotic twins are routinely scanned every 2 weeks from 18-34 weeks to monitor for the early signs of twin-twin transfusion syndrome.

Monoamniotic twins are scanned weekly after 24 weeks until elective delivery usually at 32 weeks in a hospital with good a neonatal intensive care unit.

Your doctor will decide how often he/she wants your pregnancy monitored with ultrasound. If there is a problem identified in the fetus or with the growth further investigations may be discussed with you including prenatal testing such as amniocnetesis or CVS.

twins scantwins scantwins scan